100 Days of Love Sonnets: Day 1

To kiss the mirror in the way that you do, softly
and half naked, picking out the spots you’d wish
would all go away, perhaps with a cream dish
full of different concoctions and think loftily

of how good you’d look then, how silly
is that thought to me. It’s not enough to miss
the smiles creasing your face. You’re kiss
is gone too out of my life, it’s to the mirror really

that I’ve lost you. I’ve heard you can wash in the waves,
the choppy waters have a cleansing power to break
whatever storm is raging in you, that’s stating factually,
you’re not good enough. I’ve heard that the graves
are full of people who made themselves look fake,
when all I hope is to love you adequately.

Leave a Reply

